Select Page

About Us

About Us

Drover Cycles is run by Anna and Luke. We love bikes and have between us clocked up tens of thousands of on and off-road miles here in Powys and all over the world. Although we’re a small shop, we cater for all kinds of cyclists and offer a range of road, MTB, leisure, touring and BMX bikes from brands we know and trust. Our focus is on value for money, excellent customer service and great product knowledge all delivered in a friendly and approachable style! So, whether you’re a local or a visitor, call in at Drover Cycles soon to see what we have in store.


Name: Anna Heywood

Age: 35

Where do you live? On top of a hill overlooking the beautiful Wye Valley, just outside Hay on Wye

Current bike(s):Whichever bike from our hire fleet is not in use! And of course Mr B, my sturdy Thorn expedition bike, who spends a lot of time in the shed these days 🙁

How long have you been cycling? Since the age of four, but never very seriously.

What type of cycling are you into?I love cycling as a means of seeing the world, so the terrain is less important than the landscape, people, weather and food I encounter along the way.

Best day on a bike?Freewheeling down a beautiful valley road in the Dordogne. Wind in my hair and plenty of pains-aux-chocolats in my bar bag…

…and the worst? 80-odd kilometres along a dirt road in Ethiopia with knee-grinding climbs, driving rain and charming local children hurling stones and abuse. In hindsight the scenery was spectacular, but I wasn’t in the mood to appreciate it at the time!

What do you do other than cycling? Work, basically… Any spare time is spent walking, gardening, cooking and looking after my furry and feathery friends (cats and chickens that is).


Name: Luke Skinner

Age: 35

Where do you live? Hay on Wye

Current bike(s): Whatever takes my fancy in the hire fleet!

How long have you been cycling? As long as I can remember.

What do you do other than cycling? Work! Enjoy travelling, though don’t get away so often these days. Other outdoor activities which I also don’t do as much of as I would like include hillwalking, mountaineering and climbing, sailing – anything slightly adventurous in the fresh air.